• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Ski recommendation for Advanced intermediate

fosphenytoin

Putting on skis
Skier
This post was written by my niece who is looking for new skis:

I am 21y/o female 5'6 (168cm), weigh around 128lbs (58kg), an advanced intermediate looking for new skis. My current skis are the Dynastar Legend X80 160cm.
I learnt skiing in Europe and skied several places there (Verbier, Val d'Isere/Tignes), but primarily ski in the Western US. I have visited the Salt Lake area twice, been to Taos ski week, Lake Tahoe area, and Sun Valley. My favorite region so far is the Salt Lake area because of the snow quality. I have been skiing for about 8 years now, but have averaged less than 10 days per season for the majority of it. More recently averaged around 20 days per season, and felt that I have improved a lot.

I had the Dynastar Legend for 1.5 seasons, and feel that I have already outgrown them. Since taking some lessons last season and the Taos Ski week at the start of this season I have improved carving and skiing in bumps. I enjoy skiing on groomed trails, and also lighter soft bumps. I have not done much tree skiing and do not excel at skiing deep powder. I just seem to get stuck all the time!
I wish to progress in carving and skiing more difficult bumps. I got my current skis as a hand-me down, and they were intended for a progressing intermediate. After trying the free demo in Deer Valley, I realized that my current skis weren't cutting it anymore. I continued with 2 more days of ski demo in Sun Valley.

I am looking for ideally an all-mountain ski that can perform decently in most situations seen in a west coast resort.

Rossignol Black Ops W 98 160cm