• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

How to make instructor training sessions fun?

wutangclan

Getting on the lift
Skier
I'm relatively new at running instructor training sessions -- this will be my 2nd season doing so. How can I make this fun and challenging? What do you enjoy when you attend session?

Context: this is at a small local hill and the sessions will be run at night when there is limited terrain open (groomers and a couple of short bump runs). The trainees have their L1, training for L2. A lot of them are gap-year kids from overseas, mixed in with some older locals. I'd say most of them are "Type B" personality, i.e. want to get good but need it to be fun, with a minority of "Type A" keeners who like grinding through drills. Many of them will be tired from having been teaching during the day.

All suggestions and ideas are appreciated ... there are no wrong answers.

SkiSchoolPros

Impact Ecosystem- ie.Money with Meaning
Skier
Done a lot of training- IMO, the best trainers are the ones who approach it similar to how they would with a group of paying customers.

What do you do when you get an upper level group lesson? Play, Drill, Adventure, Summary is one model. Maslow (you mentioned they might be tired) and CAP models are others...CAP will lead you to create a different lesson than you would with another group, but the process is the same.

Figure out individual goals, motivations, turn-ons, turn-offs, interests, etc.
Build some group comradery and see who gets on with each other. Various pairing up exercises can be good. Recently, we did visual MA in a clinic- aka, watch someone ski and then ski like them to show them what they were doing.
Figure out what they have in common (i.e. what you can do that might appeal to a large portion of the group)
Get them working, at times, on the edge of their comfort zone.