• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Base flattening / grind on new skis

Wade

Out on the slopes
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
I’m getting ready to start tuning and waxing for the new season, and checked out 5 new sets of skis for base flatness before I start.

Which of these would be acceptable to you to put right into the rotation with just edge tuning and waxing, and which would you want to send for a grind to get the base flatter? (Apologies for the shitty photos - these were a bit tricky to take with an iphone).

1 - J Skis Fast Forward
IMG_2198.jpeg

2 - Moment Countach

IMG_2199.jpeg

3- Volkl Revolt 95

IMG_2201.jpeg

4 - Kastle Mogul X
IMG_2196.jpeg

5 - Zipline junior mogul
IMG_2200.jpeg

Attachments

• IMG_2200.jpeg
    IMG_2200.jpeg
    85.9 KB · Views: 27
Last edited:

mdf

entering the Big Couloir
Skier
Team Gathermeister
SkiTalk Supporter
Oooo... I'll play. I'm far from an expert at base flatness, but I do check my skis and have had to guess what "good enough" looks like.

My totally untrained thoughts:
1) looks bad, but it's flat near the edges so might ski fine.
2) yuck
3) sort of like an antique center groove. Aesthetically bad, but probably ok
4) very nice
5) probably the worst of the bunch

graham418

Skiing the powder
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
I am very surprised at how bad all of those look. I dont know if you got them online or at a shop, but if you got them at a shop, I'm surprised they would let you go out the door like that. even if it was by ways of an upsell to prep them properly

TS
Wade

Wade

Out on the slopes
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
I am very surprised at how bad all of those look. I dont know if you got them online or at a shop, but if you got them at a shop, I'm surprised they would let you go out the door like that. even if it was by ways of an upsell to prep them properly
Moment, J and Zipline are all (mostly) DTC brands, so online for those.