• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

focker

Out on the slopes
Skier
A little background. I've been tuning skis for 4-5 years and feel I'm fairly decent at it.

The one area that frustrates me is post scrap brushing. I use a (Very) sharp scraper and get every bit of wax off I can. When I go to use my nylon brush however it just doesn't feel like it's doing much. First off I see almost no wax being removed using the brush. I do see the surface slightly change from more dull to more shiny. I also see spots when brushing where perhaps I didn't get completely all the wax off when scraping (hazy spots). I'll often then go back and scrape those small spots again.

Am I using the wrong brush perhaps? I know I'm applying a lot of downwards pressure onto the ski and going over it several times. Just seems like it doesn't do much.

I'm using a smaller swix nylon brush with short (1/4"?) stiff bristles. I try to clear it out by scraping it across a piece of metal to clear it out as well.

Thoughts?

Primoz

Skiing the powder
Skier
From your description I don't really see any signs that brush doesn't work. From this what you wrote, I got impression your brush does exactly what it's suppose to do :)

Doug Briggs

"Douche Bag Local"
Industry Insider
SkiTalk Tester
My finishing process is to scrape, brass brush then nylon brush. The brass brush makes quick work of the excess and results in a uniform finish. The nylon brightens it up into a nice glossy look.

Tom K.

Skier Ordinaire
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
My finishing process is to scrape, brass brush then nylon brush. The brass brush makes quick work of the excess and results in a uniform finish. The nylon brightens it up into a nice glossy look.

Agree 100%. Many purists decry the brash brush, but I believe it's all in how much touch you've got. Don't overdo it, and it's a wonderful tool.