• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

What ski do I want?

Wolfski

Getting on the lift
Skier
Hey Pugsters, this is my first time as an OP so I figured I should get right at it and go back to where I was 30+ years ago.

I need help picking a ski, not just any ski, a ski that I can live with for the coming season.

Now the honest Q & A, I haven't skied regularly for close to 25 years, I know, shame on me but life and business got in the way but I'm back, isn't that all that really counts? I'm Vintage as well as my memories and experience.

Now for my ski type that I used to like, a GS ski, a big GS ski with metal and mounted at half cord, yes, I'm an ex shop tech, elite racer, race coach and official. I like metal, even in a Slalom ski so that may say something. I love to cruise fast (carefully) and won't shy away from most anything except hiking at 11K plus, hey, I'm from the Midwest and I'm 60

All my skis are straights so to speak, but when I had my choice out free skiing I was on a 207-210 GS ski for groomers, deep snow, trees etc. everything except moguls. Moguls and metal don't mix much and frankly if there's not a dump on the bumps I'll stay clear with the exception of a run because they're there.

Last year a friend let me Demo a pair of Atomic Vantage 90 CTI in a 184 CM length and I loved them, I'm 6' and 200lbs, I skied Ice here in the Artificial Snow Ice of the Midwest, Colorado hard pack, corduroy, crud and what not but regrettably no deep stuff (bad timing) but I'm OK with that as when it's deep I've never cared what I was on, it's deep and I'll deal with it. I also had a pair of Elan Amphibio 88 XTI?? in the same length. No thanks, they carved well but were heavy and didn't have anywhere near the power of the Atomics when you loaded the tail.

I tried but I never found a top end on those Atomic sticks but I hadn't skied in a number of years. Well maybe I did, but it was fast enough.