• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Ski Cross Racing

cmj149

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
My 10 year old son is a member of our local freestyle ski team and competes in Slope Style, Rail Jam and Half Pipe events. He uses the same twin tip park skis for all of his skiing. He wants to also start competing in the Ski Cross discipline this season. I am a total newbie to ski racing and hoped to get some advice here.

I really want to pick him up a pair of race skis to go along with his twin tips. No one makes a junior ski cross ski though, so would a GS or SL ski be better for him? Looks like Head and a few others also make a "mulit-event" ski as well? And also how would I size a ski-cross ski, shorter like an SL ski or head height and over like a GS ski? There's not a ton of tight turns, like in Slalom, so I'm thinking maybe a longer ski for maximum speed?

Thanks all!!

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
GS skis seem to the be the ski of choice for Skier Cross. The Multi event junior skis are not not up to snuff of that of a real junior race ski. As far as sizing...where kids are racing GS with skis head height to a fist over, for the Skier Cross, err to the shorter side of that reference, ski them at head height to maybe slightly over.

hbear

Out on the slopes
Skier
Essentially a good GS ski, if I remember correctly a ski cross specific ski is pretty much a GS ski; perhaps with some slight differences in radius.

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
Essentially a good GS ski, if I remember correctly a ski cross specific ski is pretty much a GS ski; perhaps with some slight differences in radius.
Most of the men skier cross skiers are skiing 27M skis and the women 21M. I think a head height GS ski for a kid will be ideal.

Muleski

So much better than a pro
Inactive
Are you getting any direction from the program's SX coaches?