• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

New skis after 15 years

SnowForest53

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
Hello guys!
So, this year i went back to skiing after 15 years.
I used to ski 15 times per winter for 5-6 years when i was a kid.
This year, i rented equipment approximately 11-13 times.
Here is the thing. Renting is very expensive. I need my own skis.
The problem is, I dont know what to buy after such a long hiatus.
I would say i'm quite experienced, although i'm mostly self taught. I prefer steep red slopes and most black ones. I can ski fast, safely and comfortably, but i am far from expert, since my tehnique probably isn't good and i don't know how to carve (self taught). I do have a lot of experiences though.
I ski quite fast and sometimes i like to take quick turns, sometimes longer ones. I like speed, but i'm not suicidal. I do go faster than most skiers though, but not extremely fast.
So, i dont know which skis to buy. I can't afford renting anymore, as it is very expensive, if you ski more than few time per year. I haven't really paid much attention to gear i rented, although for the first few times
they gave some really bad begginers ski. As i asked for me, they give more advanced stuff.
Last time, they gave me skis that i really liked, Elan Primetime 55 plus.

The only weird thing is, that those skis are really really wide. I felt very comfortable skiing on them, they were really fast, i had great stability and i could make both fast and longer turns. I was very tired on them though after 5-6 hours of skiing. I used the 165 cm model, although Elan recomends 172 for me. My question is this: should i buy them and should i buy 172cm? I am 178cm tall and my weight is 82kg. I really like those skis and i can get a discount. Or is 172 too long?

Elan also offers primetime 55, which is much more narrower:

I'm afraid those are too advanced for me. Any opinions?