• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

jpwebster

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
Hi there is 17 years old and have been skiing for the past 5 years of my life. I've had no lessons, training, or coaching and I'm all self taught by youtube and trail and error. I'm trying to perfect the art of carving and need tips on where I can improve to make my carving perfect as I want to do Nastar Racing when I'm older. Don't hold back and please critique me to the fullest, be as hard as you want as all the comments will help me one way or another, just looking to improve. I'm currently skiing on 2016 Rossignol Experience 84's w/ Tyrolia Attack 13 bindings with Lange XT 100 boots. Please address any issues with my skiing and please give me drills or tips in order to improve my issues, Thank you!
*Sorry that the first video is not landscape as I forgot to tell my recorder

Doby Man

Out on the slopes
Skier
Good 5 season start considering the carving you are getting.

The short in order of suggested priority:

1. Fundamental: Get arms and pole plant asymmetrical: no right pole plant, dropping inside hand, dropping right arm and dropping left hand after pole plant. We are not rowing a boat.

2. Fundamental: Seek more and continued boot flexion. Compare the cover shots in videos 2 and 3. Get the knees over the toe piece, work the ski fore to aft and drive the shovel into the turn. We are not riding surfboards.

3. Carving: Start looking for ski pressure from tipping the skis and staying low (w/continued boot flexion) instead of rising up and down over them. You are rising up into the back seat. We are not riding pogo sticks.

4. Carving: Start looking for equal ski tipping and keeping shins parallel through the turn for clean, equal radius carving. In the architecture of skiing, the triangle is not the strongest shape.