• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Base Prep - Repeated Full Wax Cycles vs Once Layer Repeatedly Ironed?

NateR

Booting up
Skier
Hello all,

Got some skis I'm getting ready to run through a few cycles of waxing rather than hot boxing. I've read it said that "got boxing skis is like waxing skis XX number of times," so am curious if those are full wax/scrape cycles.

When you're not trying to clean out the bases, and instead are waxing with the intention of getting the wax deep into the base, is the following a thing?
Put on a thick layer of base prep wax, then iron it in. Wait for ski to cool, then iron it in again. Repeat however much you want. Then scrape, etc.

I'm pretty new to tuning, so let me know if this works like I'm imagining it would. Do people do this? I'd imagine that'd be just as effective, easier, and waste less wax.

Thanks
Nate

Sibhusky

Whitefish, MT
Skier
Well, that's probably fine for new skis, but with anything that has been used I'd be hot scraping because I'm not trying to work dirt down into the bases. You don't have to scrape it totally off, just make sure it's scraping clean looking wax. I usually, on older skis, do three cycles of wax/scrape and then a wax/cool before my next layers start building. That's just a pre season thing I do. Each set of skis will have gone through at least six wax cycles before day 1. In addition to structure refreshes before I start, and a ton of scraping and brushing. Of course, my daughter thinks I'm nuts. But I'm retired and have the time.

raytseng

Making fresh tracks
Skier
Your idea is valid, but you are getting diminishing returns if you're not racing. You are better off doing three quick wax jobs every 3 days of skiing rather than spend triple the time for a super-job and hoping it'll be fast for 9days.
Remember, the ski base isn't a huge sponge, it's still only just a few mm thick.