• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Avoiding burrs when setting edge angle

Rc231

Booting up
Skier
I am pretty new to edge tuning and looking for some technique advice. I have a new set of skis, that needed the bevels reset (1.5 base/2 side). I went through my process using a SVST final cut base guide and 2 degree side bevel going with a file, then 200 and 400 stones. I set base edge first, running the file until I fully removed a sharpie mark down the edge, then cleaning with the stone. I then did the same on the sides. after I finished I did a couple light passes with a gummy trying to match the bevel angles and a bit of dulling past the taper points. I then went skiing and couldn't release from the sidecut in medium firm snow but was fine in softer snow. When I got home and checked there was a burr running down the base edges that I could just feel with my nail that I am pretty sure was causing my problems. I just took off the burr with my 400 stone in the base guide and did some more gummy work so I think I am set now, the edges feel sharp but don't catch a bare finger running front to back or across from the base or sidewall.

In the future how do I prevent the burr? Is this bad technique or do I just need to plan the cleanup passes next time I set angles? I have not had this issue before but have mostly been making smaller bevel changes just to the side or just honing an already set edge with stones.

KingGrump

Most Interesting Man In The World
Team Gathermeister
SkiTalk Supporter

James

Out There
Instructor
Which way was the file pointing when you filed? Towards the base or towards the top sheet?

TS
R

Rc231

Booting up
Skier
Which way was the file pointing when you filed? Towards the base or towards the top sheet?
I had the file pointing towards the base, maybe it is better pointing toward the top sheet?

SlideWright

aka Alpinord
Industry Insider
SkiTalk Supporter